Quinoa Pilaf

DF, V, VG if w/out feta cheese, GF

I try to make every dinner well rounded with protein, vegetables and a starchy side.  There are many different proteins and vegetables that I alternate between, but when it comes to a starch I usually rotate between rice and potatoes.  Lately I’ve been trying to get out of this rut by making gnocchi, pasta, and even quinoa.  When I made this quinoa pilaf I was ready to eat the whole pot myself…it’s really that good.  Luckily for me, I was able to restrain myself.  When I pulled it out the following night as a leftover and added leftover sauteed green beans I was able to enjoy it again as a dish even better than the original.  It was like hitting a gold mine.  When you make it add a leftover veggie, whether it’s green beans, squash, peas, etc.

Food 016

Quinoa Pilaf
1 c quinoa
1 3/4 c chicken broth
1/4 c almonds, chopped
1/4 c dried cherries
1/2 c feta cheese
2 scallions, chopped
2 tbs olive oil
1 lemon, zested and juiced
1 c arugula, chopped
1 c leftover veggies, chopped

Food 020

Place the quinoa in a medium pot and cook over medium heat until toasted, about 2 minutes. Add 1 3/4 cups chicken broth and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, covered, until the liquid is absorbed, 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from the heat and let sit, covered, about 2 minutes.

While the quinoa is cooking, toast the almonds in a skillet over medium-low heat, stirring, until golden, about 5 minutes; transfer to a plate.  Fluff the quinoa with a fork. Add the almonds, dried cherries, feta cheese, scallions, olive oil, lemon zest and juice, arugula, and leftover veggies. Season with salt and pepper and toss.

One thought on “Quinoa Pilaf

Leave a Reply

