Butternut Squash Couscous Salad

DF, V, VG

Last weekend I had the most amazing steak with a wheatberry and butternut squash toss overlaid with a chimichurri sauce.  I could have left it there, but decided this idea had to live on at home.  Of course I made some substitutions based on what I already had in my pantry and since I was bringing this to a pot luck I left out the steak.  Still so amazing that I just had to share, I hope you like it just as much as I do.

image

Butternut Squash Couscous Salad
1 lb butternut squash, peeled and 3/4-inch diced
1 c parsley
1/4 c mint
2 tbs red wine vinegar
1/4 red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp salt
pepper
1 garlic clove
juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/2 tbs dried oregano
1/4 c extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 c israeli couscous, cooked
1/3 c toasted pine nuts

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  On a large baking sheet toss butternut squash with 2 tbs of olive oil, salt and pepper.  Roast for 20 minutes.

In a food processor add parsley, mint, red wine vinegar, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, garlic clove, lemon juice, oregano.  Pulse until chopped finely then with the blade on stream in olive oil.

In a large bowl add cooked couscous, pine nuts, butternut squash, and herb dressing.  Toss to combine.  Serve warm or room temperature.

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Couscous Salad

Leave a Reply

